AMTE Elementary Mathematics Specialists Initiatives

AMTE is committed to promoting the use of Elementary Mathematics Specialists in PK-6 environments to enhance the teaching, learning, and assessing of mathematics in order to improve student achievement.


Sponsored by The Math Learning Center



EMS Scholarship Program

The AMTE Elementary Mathematics Specialist Scholarship program provides support to teachers in their development as elementary mathematics specialists. Recipients receive $2,000 of funding to enhance their mathematics knowledge, teaching, and leadership by enrolling in university coursework or other training to develop the expertise in becoming an elementary mathematics specialist. Funds should be used to work towards an EMS certificate or endorsement.

 Learn More / Apply  

States with EMS Certification or Credentials

In 2010, 9 states offered EMS certification or credentials. Following conferences in 2010 and 2011 along with related efforts (e.g., conference presentations, publications, research conference), 23 states now offer state certification for EMS:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

    More Information

    For more information on AMTE Initiatives in support of Elementary Mathematics Specialists, please contact: